Picture

In a world of instant tans, instant message, and having more available at our finger tips, easier and faster than ever before why is it that instead of feeling that this is a blessing we treat it as a entitlement. Are you guilty of popping something in the microwave and standing in front of it impatiently waiting for it to "cook faster". Cook faster! Its taking 2 minutes to cook something that if you made it from scratch would mostly likely take 2 hours. Why are we so impatient? Has todays technology and society turned us into spoiled brats? We loathe the idea of actually waiting and working for something. Today I found myself frustrated that peeling a boiled egg was taking me "soooo long" really it took about 40 seconds but it seemed like all morning at the time. I even caught myself thinking I'm going to start buying the eggs that are already boiled and peeled for you. Realistically those eggs are twice the price of a dozen and only come with 6 eggs. That's beyond foolish, my mother grew up on a farm where she had to actually take care of the chickens, collect the eggs, etc. All I have to do is buy them at the store put them in a pot of water and take the shell off. Its not that hard, but I am spoiled with an instant world. We all are we take advantage of so many things and so many people in our life because...well because we can. Stop living like this! God gives just as easily as he can take away. Count your blessings because they were once hopes and prayers. I prayed and prayed for God to give me an amazing husband. With all of the toxic relationships I had seen throughout my life and participated in myself. I had this idea in my head of all the things I didn't want in a husband. He would be this ,and he would be that. With all of my expectations you would think id never get married! But God knew what I NEEDED in a husband and he blessed me with that. And I can tell you now I am so thankful for that. God answered my prayers. Yet I don't thank God for him nearly enough, and I don't tell my husband how much I appreciate how he treats me, and how he is everything I NEEDED in my life nearly enough.  I act as if I deserve the way he treats me. But in all honesty I don't, do any of us really deserve the love we are given by our families? By our friends? By our husbands or wives or kids? We all fall short and yet God blesses us over and over. Why should we act as if we are entitled to these things? To these blessings? We arn't. So this is a wake up call to me, and hopefully to you as well. Stop living for an instant world. Be thankful for what you have, and be thankful for those around you. God knows what you NEED and he will provide it to you. It may not be instantly, but your prayer is not a instant message you send to God so that he will instantly give you what you asked for. #Be patient, be thankful, be blessed.

God gives every bird its food,
but He does not throw it
into its nest.
 
- J G
Holland


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.